These are a few of my favourite things…

My dad’s response to the news that

RED MEAT KILLS  –  OFFICIAL

Cream cakes and sugar and coffee and strudels,
Red meat and bacon and schnitzel with noodles,
Roast geese in dripping with fat on their wings –
These are a few of my favourite things!

Eggs, milk, salt, chocolate, ice cream and coke,
Cheese, crisps and truffles, and ham cooked in smoke,
Beer, spirits, wine (ah! such pleasure it brings) –
These are a few of my favourite things!

Now nothing is sacred, what else is there left?
Of my favourite things they would have me bereft!
I simply remember
I’m damn nearly dead,
And then I don’t feel so bad…

Leave a comment

Filed under Streams of Consciousness

Leave a Reply

